samster's adventures

An adventurous girl cooks, eats and explores in Europe.

BBQ Cauliflower Pizza

I have to admit that I’ve gotten pretty obsessed with cauliflower.  I love the taste and it seems to be a hot trend in recipes these days. It is also one of the few vegetables that goes well with any sauce and soaks in the flavor similarly to meats. So when I wanted to make vegan pizza for non-vegans coming to a party, I knew the most missed ingredient of pizza is the cheese. I wanted to go with a nontraditional pizza, so that it would be different enough they would not immediately think “where’s the cheese?” I immediately thought of this recipe for Buffalo “wings” found on PETA’s site and all over Pinterest. Who knew PETA did recipes? I made this with BBQ sauce instead of Buffalo at another party and got a great response, so I decided to do something similar on pizza. I skipped the breading process to make a simple BBQ Cauliflower Pizza. This was a hit with the guests as well when I served it at a party last Friday- even the meat lovers were huge fans!

BBQ Cauliflower Pizza

BBQ Cauliflower Pizza

–          1 cup cauliflower

–          ¼ cup red onion

–          ¼ cup red bell peppers

–          ¼ cup corn

–           1 tomato

–          ¼ cup BBQ Sauce (I use Reggae Reggae BBQ Sauce because it is my favorite out here, but it can be any bought or homemade sauce you like)

–          1 pizza crust (store bought or homemade)

Dice cauliflower into small pieces. Slice red onion and pepper into thin slivers. Place all vegetables in a bowl and pour half the BBQ sauce in and allow marinating. Spread evenly over pizza crust and pour on remaining sauce. Cook according to directions on crust.

One comment on “BBQ Cauliflower Pizza

  1. Pingback: Vegan BBQ – yes, it can be done | samster's adventures

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2013 by in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Archives